California requires vehicle registrations be renewed once per year. We can complete your registration in just minutes and get you on your way. We complete registration for your cars much faster than the DMV.
For more info on registration renewals, Click Here.
Vehicles with registration fees over $1000 will be subject to a surcharge.
VIN Verification can be done to ensure your vehicle is the same one as registered. This is required when bringing a vehicle into California from another state.
When a vehicle is first marked as salvage, it is given a salvage certificate. To convert this back to a driveable vehicle, the salvaged vehicle must be "revived" and the salvage certificate must be traded for a salvaged vehicle title.
Express Registration Service is not owned/operated by any government agency.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles requires vehicles to have their registration renewed once every year. You may renew at any time before the due date without penalty. If you are late, and register your vehicle after the due date, penalties will begin accruing. Late fees get higher the longer you wait, and are determined by the following schedule:
Worried about paying late fees? At Express Auto Registration Service, we can process your registration TODAY, preventing late fees from adding up and saving you money.
Yes, if you are driving with expired registration, you can be pulled over and cited. You can even have your car impounded. If your registration is less than six months overdue, you should receive a ticket only, but if it is more than six months late, the officer is able to impound your car.
Even if you aren’t driving, having your car parked on a public road can result in parking tickets for expired registration.
If your registration is already expired, renewing with the DMV and waiting for new tags in the mail can still result in parking tickets, being pulled over, and other issues while you wait. Avoid all that hassle, and renew your registration with Express Auto Registration Service to get your tags today.
In California, gas and hybrid vehicles newer than 1976 model year need to have a smog check once every two years, in order to renew their registration. Diesel vehicles newer than 1998 model year and under 14,000 pounds have the same requirement. Electric vehicles and motorcycles are exempt from these rules. If your vehicle is less than 8 years old, it does not need a smog check until it is past 8 years old, after which it will need one every other year (except when selling a vehicle that is over 4 years old, where it will need a smog check to complete the sale).
If your vehicle requires a smog check this year, your registration renewal notice will say so (if you don’t have your renewal notice, we can look this up for you when you arrive). Be sure to check whether you can go to any smog station, or if they tell you to go to a special STAR station.
If you are having trouble getting your vehicle to pass smog, or you need more time, you should still come visit us to pay your DMV fees to stop/prevent penalties from accruing. We are able to post the fees to the DMV, and provide you with a moving permit so that you are able to take your vehicle to the mechanic and/or Smog check station. You can then come back when you’ve completed the smog check and receive your renewed registration and stickers that day.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles requires all vehicles that are registered to have insurance. Insurance companies are mandated to electronically submit insurance information to the DMV (within 30 days of insurance being obtained, and within 45 days of insurance being cancelled). The DMV holds this information, and if they don’t have an insurance policy on record for your vehicle, they will require proof of insurance when renewing your vehicle’s registration.
Because it can take 30 days for your insurance company to submit proof of insurance electronically, the DMV may not have that proof even if you have current insurance. But you should still make your registration payments now, at least, to prevent penalties and fees from accruing. You can also bring a current copy of your insurance card to us to have it sent to the DMV and get your registration and tags immediately.
If your vehicle's registration has been suspended, you can check the suspension reason on the DMV website, by clicking the DMV LINKS at the top of this page, and going to INSURANCE INQUIRY, or by clicking the button below.
When you purchase or sell a vehicle, you must complete a title transfer to notify the Department of Motor Vehicles of the change in ownership. This officially puts the vehicle in the new owner's name, and assigns all of the rights and responsibilities in their name. Title transfers typically come in two categories: in-state, and out-of-state. If the vehicle in question was previously owned and operated in California and has an existing California title, then it is an in-state title transfer. If the vehicle was just brought in from another state, and has its title from the other state, you will need to complete an out-of-state title transfer. This section will cover in-state title transfers. For more info on out-of-state title transfers, please scroll down to the Out-of-State Title Transfer section.
There are only two things that are strictly necessary to complete a title transfer for a vehicle with a current California title. These are:
While the only requirement is those two forms, it is a good idea to also complete a Bill of Sale (DMV form REG 135) or a Vehicle/Vessel Transfer Form (DMV form REG 262). REG 135 forms are available to be filled out and printed in the DMV FORMS section at the top of this page, or by clicking the button below. REG 262 forms are not available online, but are available in-person at our office. These forms are not required, but can be a good idea to protect you, serving as a sort of "proof of purchase" in case there are any issues later.
See below for more information on the title and smog requirements.
The most important part on the title for a title transfer is Line One. Line One must be signed (in ink) by the seller(s) to release their interest in the vehicle. Without a signature by the seller(s), the DMV will not process the title transfer. Make sure to check if the title lists two owners. If the title lists two owners with either "AND" or "/" separating the names, then the second owner must also sign on Line Two of the title. If there are two owners listed and their names are separated by an "OR" then only one of the owners needs to sign on Line One.
In addition to Line One, if the vehicle being transferred is less than ten years old, the odometer disclosure section must be filled out and signed by both the buyer and seller. If the title does not have an odometer disclosure, you must instead fill out DMV form REG 262, using the odometer disclosure on that form (REG 262 must be signed by both buyer and seller). That form will then be submitted along with the title to complete the transfer.
For a title transfer on a vehicle that already has a California title, fees are easy to determine.
An Out-of-State Title Transfer needs to be completed when a vehicle is brought into California from another state. This can be for a vehicle you brought with you when you moved to California, or for a vehicle that you, as a California resident, bought in another state and brought back to your home. The vehicle will need to have a California title created and be registered to drive in California, and will receive California license plates and tags/stickers.
An Out-of-State Title Transfer will always need the following documents:
In addition, commercial vehicles (including pickup trucks) will need to be weighed at a weight station and get a weight certificate in order to be registered.
Vehicles with a salvaged title will need to get a brake/light inspection, and take that to the DMV to get the VIN Verification. This can be done in a separate line from the regular DMV line. Please call us at 619-230-5720 for more info on the salvage transfer process, as this has a few extra steps.